The Georgia Pharmacy Association

The Georgia Pharmacy Association

The Georgia Pharmacy Association represents Georgia’s pharmacists, pharmacy technicians, and their patients. We fight for you at the capitol, we provide you with education and networking, and we give you the resources you need to do your job better and improve your practice — and your patients’ lives — every day. We are your GPhA.

Quick info

Contact us

The Georgia Pharmacy Association
6065 Barfield Road NE | Suite 100
Sandy Springs, GA 30328

(404) 231-5074 or (888) 871-5590

Fax to (404) 237-8435

Press inquiries
Contact Ruth Ann McGehee at (404) 419-8173 or rmcgehee@gpha.org

Advertising and sponsorship opportunities in our magazine, websites, convention, or other events and publications: Contact Denis Mucha at dmucha@gpha.org

More info

The 2017 – 2018 GPhA Board of Directors

President/Board Chair: Liza Chapman
liza.chapman@kroger.com

President Elect: Tim Short
garph9@aol.com

Immediate Past President: Lance Boles
lanceboles@hotmail.com

 

Directors:

Ashish Advani (aaadvani@gmail.com)
Wes Chapman (weschapmanpc@gmail.com)
Sharon Deason (sdeason99@hotmail.com)
Kevin Florence (add.drug@gmail.com)
Amy Miller (amylulapharmacy@gmail.com)
Fred Sharpe (fsharpe@u-save-it.com)
Jonathan Sinyard (sinyardj@gmail.com)
Chris Thurmond (vildrug@bellsouth.net)

GPhA Staff

Patricia Aguilar

Accounting Coordinator
(404) 419-8124
paguilar@gpha.org

Bob Coleman

Chief Executive Officer
(404) 419-8121
bcoleman@gpha.org

Dianne Jones

Vice President of
Finance & Administration
(404) 419-8129
djones@gpha.org

Andrew Kantor

Communications Director
akantor@gpha.org

Ruth Ann McGehee

Executive Assistant to the CEO
& Governance Administrator
(404) 419-8173
rmcgehee@gpha.org

denis

Denis Mucha

Manager of
Member Services
(404) 419-8120
dmucha@gpha.org

Phillip Ratliff

Education Consultant
(404) 426-1140
pratliff@gpha.org

greg-reybold

Greg Reybold

Vice President
of Public Policy
& Association Counsel
(404) 419-8118
greybold@gpha.org

mary-ritchie

Mary Ritchie

Director of
Membership Operations
(404) 419-8115
mritchie@gpha.org

GPhA Staff: Academy of Independent Pharmacy

Jeff Lurey, R.Ph.

Director of AIP and
GPhA Vice President
of Independent Pharmacy
(404) 419-8103
jlurey@gpha.org

Amanda Gaddy, RPh

Director of
Clinical Services
agaddy@gpha.org

Verouschka “V”
Betancourt-Whigham

Manager of AIP Member
Services; Convention Planner
vbwhigham@gpha.org

Rhonda Bonner

Member Service
Representative
(229) 854-2797
rbonner@gpha.org

Charles Boone

Member Service
Representative
(478) 955-7789
cboone@gpha.org

Melissa Metheny

Member Service
Representative
(678) 485-6126
mmetheny@gpha.org

Gene Smith

Member Service
Representative
(423) 667-7949
gsmith@gpha.org

GPhA Committees

According to the GPhA Bylaws, Article IX, The Association shall recognize the following standing and advisory committees:

Legislative Policy Committee

Dale Coker, Chair
Bobby Moody, Vice Chair
Staff: Greg Reybold

Membership Linkage Committee

Mahlon Davidson, Chair
Daryl Reynolds, Vice Chair
Staff: Mary Ritchie

CPE Advisory Committee

Mike Crooks, Chair
Andi McKeever, Vice Chair
Staff Liaison: Phil Ratliff

Our official mission statement

The mission of the Georgia Pharmacy Association is to promote and enhance the profession of pharmacy and the practice standards of its practitioners. Further, the association shall work to heighten the public’s perception of the profession of pharmacy and pharmacists, and to promote the value of pharmacy services to the health and welfare of the general public.

Our history

In the summer of 1875, a concerned group of Georgia pharmacists sent a notice to all the pharmacists of the state, requesting them to assemble in Macon on October 20, 1875:

“to consider the organization of a pharmaceutical association, binding each other with closer ties of friendship and to promote interest in the junior members of the fraternity and exciting the spirit of emulation and ambition; the interchange and dissemination of scientific researches; the framing of laws to be enacted that will result not only in the protection of the profession but the public in general.”

Georgia’s newspapers published the notice at no charge and the railroads agreed to provide reduced rates from any point in the state to Macon for anyone who wished to attend the meeting. At least twenty pharmacists were present in Macon at Freeman’s Hall at eight o’clock on the evening of October 20, 1875. The meeting included brief presentations by a member of the State Board of Health and three physicians from the Macon Medical Society, all of whom assured cooperation and support from their organizations. Following these presentations, the delegation of pharmacists adopted a constitution with an objective to bring together all the “reputable druggists” of the state in an association in the interests of the profession at large, specifying that every druggist and apothecary of good moral and professional standing whether in business, or in retirement from business, or employed by another, and the teachers of pharmacy, chemistry, materia medica, and botany, who may be professors in any college of pharmacy, should constitute the membership of the association. Thus, the Georgia Pharmaceutical Association was established. Today the Georgia Pharmacy Association is a nationally respected voice for the pharmacy profession.